Call for Awards - Reminder close end of March 2018

1st March 2018


Members are invited to nominate their esteemed colleagues for the following awards:

  • AUSTRALIA-INTERNATIONAL MEDAL is for outstanding contributions by Australian geographers to geography world-wide, or by geographers outside Australia to the geography of Australia.
  • DISTINGUISHED FELLOWSHIP OF THE INSTITUTE OF AUSTRALIAN GEOGRAPHERS (DFIAG) is awarded for distinguished service to Australian geography through furthering the aims of the Institute.
  • The FELLOWSHIP OF THE INSTITUTE OF AUSTRALIAN GEOGRAPHERS (FIAG)  recognizes sustained service to the profession of geography in Australia.

Further details of all awards, including nomination details and requirements, are available below from:

The closing date for ALL nominations is Friday 30 March 2018. Nominations should be sent to the Honorary Secretary, Robyn Bartel, at

For further enquiries about these awards, please contact either the IAG President, Ian Rutherfurd or the Secretary, Robyn Bartel,

No applications were received in Rd 2 of the Fellowship of The Institute of Australian Geographers (FIAG). Please note that this is the only award that has two calls per year. The other awards have an annual call, except for the Griffith-Taylor Medal, which is awarded every second year. The next call for the Griffith-Taylor Medal will be made in 2019.

<< Previous | Next >>