GT Medal

Griffith Taylor Medal

Named in honour of Thomas Griffith Taylor (1880–1963), the first Professor of Geography in an Australian University, founding president of the Geographical Society of New South Wales and joint editor of the Australian Geographer (1927), and first president of the Institute of Australian Geographers (1959).

The GT Medal is awarded for distinguished contributions to geographical thought in Australia. 


Award Rules

  • Nominations are invited every year.
  • A full statement no more than 1,000 words must be made describing the nominee’s suitability for the award. This statement is to be accompanied by the signatures of two proposing financial members and seconded by a further two financial members.
  • A majority vote of Council will determine awards, following advice from the President.
  • Nominations for awards are strictly confidential and must not be made known to any nominee.
  • No member shall be informed of their nomination until formally invited by the Institute’s President to accept the award.

The Award

The GT Medal

Click to see past GT Medal recipients.

©Copyright 2024 Institute of Australian Geographers Incorporated. ABN: 97471418446.