Griffith Taylor Medal


The Griffith Taylor Medal is awarded for distinguished contributions to geography in Australia. No more than one medal is to be awarded annually.

Nominations for this award will next be called in 2020.

Award Rules

  • Nominations will be invited annually.
  • A full statement (no more than 1000 words) must be made describing the nominee’s suitability for the award. This statement is to be accompanied by the signatures of two proposing financial members and seconded by a further two financial members.
  • Awards will be made by a majority of Council after receiving advice from the President.
  • Nominations for awards are strictly confidential and must not be made known to the nominee.
  • No member shall be informed of their nomination until formally invited by the Institute’s President to accept the award.
Recipients of the Griffith Taylor Medal (with link to citation where available)