The IAG Award for Dissertation Excellence

Awarded for excellence in a research dissertation, at Honours, Masters, or PhD level, and acknowledges the disciplinary contribution that the candidate has made to geography.

Award rules

  • The award recognises excellence in a dissertation. The dissertation may be in any field of geographic scholarship. The dissertation may form part of an Honours, Masters or PhD programme.
  • The applicant must have been an Honours or Masters student, or PhD candidate, enrolled in an Australian university or institution at the time of submission of the dissertation.
  • Members may self-nominate for the award or be nominated by a supervisor or an examiner. If self- nominating, then the nomination must include the endorsement of at least one supervisor or examiner.

The nomination should take the following form:

  • A full statement (no more than 500 words) describing the contribution the dissertation or thesis makes to the discipline;
  • Attached evidence or supporting statements about the contribution from examiner/s, the supervisor/s, and/or from School or Departmental Head or Higher Degree Committee or equivalent; and,
  • Evidence of eligibility, including the date of graduation.


To be eligible for the IAG Award for Dissertation Excellence, the nominee must:

  • have been awarded the relevant degree (undergraduate Honours or postgraduate Masters or PhD) from an Australian institution; and
  • be applying within two years of graduation of the relevant degree.


  • one year membership of the IAG
  • a certificate of Excellence
  • conference attendance (travel, one night’s accommodation and registration) to receive the award.

Recipients of the IAG Award for Dissertation Excellence.

©Copyright 2024 Institute of Australian Geographers Incorporated. ABN: 97471418446.