Distinguished Fellowship of the Institute of Australian Geographers

The Distinguished Fellowship is awarded for distinguished service to Australian geography through furthering the aims of the Institute.

Award Rules

  • A full statement (no more than 1000 words) must be made describing the nominee’s suitability for the award. This statement is to be accompanied by the signatures of two proposing financial members and seconded by a further two financial members. Awards will be made by a majority of Council after receiving advice from the President.
  • Nominations for awards are strictly confidential and must not be made known to the nominee.
  • No member shall be informed of their nomination until formally invited by the Institute’s President to accept the award.
  • Until 2007 this award was called a Fellowship of the Institute of Australian Geographers, only one of which could be awarded each year.

Click here for past Distinguished Fellowship Recipients.

©Copyright 2024 Institute of Australian Geographers Incorporated. ABN: 97471418446.